When a person is assigned an action item in eCompliance, they will be able to approve/ reject it.
Managers who have access to 'Edit Any Action Item' would be able to approve it and also have access to complete it by themselves. If the action is completed it will be locked.
If the action item was completed by mistake, it can not be unlocked on the back end at this time.
Please make sure that an action item is submitted as "Completed" only as a final step to avoid this and the action showing up in reports.
If you have completed action items yourself, by mistake, you will need to create a new action item - use the same details mentioned in the action item which was completed by mistake and then re-approve it as desired.